GreaterGood eNews

Our People

Our Patron


Lady Helen Deane

pic_helen_deaneLady Helen Deane has been patron of GreaterGood since its establishment.

“...It is truly my great pleasure to introduce to you, the people of the Capital Region, the GreaterGood Foundation..."

This is a wonderful organisation developed to provide an opportunity for each and every member of our community to become a philanthropist.

Gifts to GreaterGood and the causes and activities it supports will forever make a difference to the quality of life in our unique part of Australia

Read more: Lady Helen Deane



The Deeds for both Funds under GreaterGood appoint the Public Trustee and Guardian for the ACT as Trustee.


Andrew Taylor

Andrew TaylorAndrew is Public Trustee and Guardian for the Australian Capital Territory, and Trustee for the capital Region Community Foundation.  He is Senior Member of the Public Trustee and Guardian Investment Board, member of the Trustee Committee of the Financial Services Council, member of the Australian Guardianship and Administration Council, member of COTA ACT and past member of the ACT Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing.

He was an immediate past Trustee representing the Ministerial Council on the National Travel Compensation Fund Board of Trustees (representing Tasmania, South Australia and the ACT).


Our Board

The Board appointed for a three year term, 01/07/2011 to 30/06/2014 is as follows.


Larry King

Larry KingPosition: Chair

From 1997 to 2013 Larry King was the Executive Director of the Law Society of the Australian Capital Territory.

Read more: Larry King


Maureen Cane

Maureen CanePosition: Member

Canberra Citizen of the Year 2011

Maureen Cane is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Volunteering ACT,  after a successful career in senior management positions in the Australian and ACT Public Services and in the community sector.

Read more: Maureen Cane


Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston, AK AFC (Ret’d)

Angus HoustonPosition: Member

Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston, AK AFC (Ret'd) was the Chief of the Defence Force from 2005 until 2011.  Angus is currently Chair of the Anzac Centenary Advisory Board, Airservices Australia, the Council for the Order of Australia and the Canberra Symphony Orchestra.

Read more: Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston, AK AFC (Ret’d)


Doug Gillespie

Doug GillespiePosition: Member

Doug Gillespie introduced the concept of the foundation to former Public Trustee for the ACT based upon his charitable experience in the private sector and has been instrumental in the creation of GreaterGood and development to its present sound position.

Read more: Doug Gillespie


Renee Le Grande

Renee Le GrandePosition: Member

Renee Le Grande joined the Institute of Charted Accountants in Australia in 2005 and was appointed as General Manager for the Australian Capital Territory in 2007.

Read more: Renee Le Grande


Justice Richard Refshauge

Justice Richard RefshaugePosition: Member

Justice Richard Refshauge first practiced law in 1976 when he commenced his legal career as a barrister and solicitor in the ACT. In January 2008 his Honour was appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory. 

Read more: Justice Richard Refshauge


Dianne O'Hara

Dianne O'HaraPosition: Member

Dianne O’Hara is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Law Society of the Australian Capital Territory.

Read more: Dianne O'Hara


Chris Uhlmann

Chris UhlmannPosition: Member

Chris came to journalism late, joining The Canberra Times in 1989, as a 29 year old copy kid. He switched to broadcasting at the ABC in 1998, producing programs on 666 ABC Canberra.

Read more: Chris Uhlmann